Garlicky Roma Beans with Tomatoes Recipe

Gentle Readers, the Practical Cook adores a simple summer side. Though she used to be a green bean hater, she has now been transformed because of her CSA, courtesy of Brinkley Farms, and a boatload of garlic. You see, growing up in the South, I was subjected to endless overcooked green beans that squeaked. I love you mom, but I do despise a limp green bean.

The Junior Practical Cook Assists with the Beans

The Junior Practical Cook Assists with the Beans

Enter the Chinese buffet. After some experimentation, and a natural prey drive (er, buffet drive?) to try one of everything, I discovered I liked very lightly cooked, slender, garlicky green beans. Preferably with soy. My Brinkley Farms beans are so good, I don’t even need soy.

This led to more experimentation, and the consumption of Roma beans. They’re the flat ones. Here’s a riff on my basic recipe, a simple side, and pretty too.

Garlicky Roma Beans with Tomatoes Recipe

splash of olive oil
1 lb Roma beans (or standard, government issue fresh green beans), washed, dried, and ends trimmed
minimum of 3 cloves of garlic minced or pressed (if you press, press them into a teaspoon of water to prevent burning)
1 cup grape or cherry tomatoes
salt and pepper to taste

1. Heat the olive oil until shimmering over a strong medium heat in a medium skillet that has a lid. The lid is not on, but nearby during this stage.

2. When the oil is hot, toss the prepped Roma beans into the oil. If they are not dry, you will not be happy at this moment. Please make sure they’re dry or you’re standing back from the pan. Stir-fry the beans for a couple of minutes, tossing thoroughly in the oil.

Toss the Tomatoes into the Romas

Toss the Tomatoes into the Romas

3. Add the garlic, saute for 30 seconds, then add a splash of water. Toss with the beans and season with salt and pepper. Slap the lid on the skillet. Steam/saute for 2 more minutes. Add tomatoes. Stir, cook for a few more minutes, or until tomatoes are warm and beans are just cooked. (If you need them floppy and squeaky, I will avert my eyes at this point.)

Summer  Vegetables, Christmas Colors

Summer Vegetables, Christmas Colors

Pat yourself on the back, and serve the beautiful green and red side dish. Tastes even better if you employ small people to snap the bean ends for you.

Raising a Non-Green-Bean Hater

Raising a Non-Green-Bean Hater

What is your most loathed vegetable from childhood? Do you still hate it? Comment here, or Tweet.

Send your extra garlic to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading the Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Coming up next, Kitchen Tool Talk, 3 More of My Favorite Things.

9 Comments

Filed under Recipes

9 responses to “Garlicky Roma Beans with Tomatoes Recipe

  1. Cooked Carrots! My goodness, I can’t even do them today as a 33 year old. The chemical and physical changes that take place make them far from appetizing. Blech! Ironically enough, raw carrots are my favorite. Hmmm.

    • The Practical Cook

      I do adore a challenge. Perhaps these Spring Carrots will convert you.

      But I hear you. Cooking changes some things from delicious into narsty. Texture matters. Perhaps my next vlog should be an attempt to eat Nutella, licorice, and sweet tea. Ugh.

  2. Lima beans. Loathed them then, loathe them now. Succotash is simply the ruining of some perfectly good corn with those foul beans. I dare anyone to fix them in a way that makes them palatable to me!

    • The Practical Cook

      Nothing is worse than a bloaty Lima Bean. I was also a hater, again, until I met them anew from Brinkley Farms. Perhaps it was the varietal or the freshness, or the amount of butter I’ve come to season them with.

      A new challenge, let’s see if I’m up to it. The Lima in sheep’s clothing, so to speak! (And the succotash comment cracked me up. Ruining good corn indeed.)

  3. Pingback: 2011 in Review: Top 5 Blog Posts | The Practical Cook

  4. Pingback: Weekly Newsletter | theveggiebin

  5. Jenn Riley

    I threw in a splash of lemon juice when adding the tomatoes, then another right as the dish came out of the pan. Fantastic!

  6. Pingback: Weekly Newsletter 05-21-13 | theveggiebin

Leave a Reply

